[INTERVIEW] Interview with JOHN ASLANIDIS

April 13, 2021

By Kuni Shim

Sonic Network no.18. Longchamp Boutique Omatesando Tokyo 2017 

Thank you for taking the time for the interview. Could you introduce yourself to Art Terms Magazine readers?

I am a visual artist predominantly working in the medium of painting who is currently based in Melbourne and have been exhibiting in Australia and overseas for approximately 30 years.

I have a Degree in Visual Arts from the City Art Institute in Sydney which I completed in1989 (which later became the NSW College of Fine Arts). In 1990 I completed my Post Graduate Diploma of Visual Arts at NSW university of College of Fine Arts.

From 1991 till 1998 I was based in Sydney and I predominately exhibited in Artist-run spaces. In 1998 I moved to Melbourne and got involved with being a co-director of an artist-run space called Stripp Gallery. Since then, I’ve had many exhibitions not only in Australia but also in New York. Also, in 2017 I completed a major site-specific commission for Longchamp’s Omotesando boutique in Tokyo’s Harajuku precinct.
Read more about the best website, you must find AAA high imitation watches for men and women.

Fast shipping. Quality guarantee. You can place an order for perfect UK sale copy rolex watches.

Your artworks bring out optical illusions. What does your work aim to say?

The optical illusions are there to mesmerize and create a contemplative headspace for the viewer. The optical illusions embody my quest for attaining the crossover between vision and sound.