[INTERVIEW] Interview with the ERIN NEWELL BIRD

July 13, 2021

By Camila Hernandez

Lapis Lazuli, Waterprint - ink on canvas, 104 x 150 cm, 2020

Hi, Erin. Could you introduce yourself to the Art Terms Magazine readers?

Hi, my name is Erin Newell Bird and I’m a contemporary artist based in the Surrey Hills, UK. I’ve originated the experimental art process of “waterprinting”

The medium for your artworks is ‘Waterprinting.’ Could you explain about it?

Combing through family archives to create digital montages that reflect individual and intergenerational transformation, I then transform these images in unpredictable ways by submerging in water. Once altered, I carefully paint layers of color until the former image is completely abstracted. What remains is a vibrant form that conveys a sense of movement and freedom. 

He Turns Green in the Sun, Waterprint - ink on canvas, 120 x 150 cm, 2021

As you started with photography, how did you end up with waterprinting?

Waterprints are in fact a hybrid of photography and painting. And both mediums have endless possibilities. The interplay between photography and painting signals a transgression of borders between rationality and the spiritual unconscious.

Photography is intrinsically linked to the representational or documentary. I’m interested in transforming this by abstraction. It’s a way of recreating history, putting my own authorship on the past (old memories) to create something new, something authentic.

I think of this line going back and forth between photography and painting, synonymous with my attempt to relate the memories of my past with the interpretations of my viewers’ present.  I am constantly coaxing my process, experimenting,  creating ethereal, otherworldly, and unexpected results. 

Wrapped in light, Waterprint - ink on canvas, 24 x 33 cm, 2021

The unique brightly colored abstracts are interesting. What’s the most important detail that you consider working on them?